Lisbon Travel Advice

Lisbon Travel Advice

This article focuses on the necessary documentation you need to travel to Portugal and Lisbon, depending on your nationality.

US Citizens

If you're an American citizen traveling to Portugal, you do not need a visa if you plan on staying for less than 90 days. But your passport must be valid for at least six months beyond your stay. 

Australian Citizens

If you're an Australian citizen visiting Portugal or any other party to the Schengen Agreement, you don't need a visa if you stay for less than 90 days. Your passport must have at least six-month validity from the planned return date. 

EU, EEA, and Swiss Citizens

As citizens of the European Union and European Economic Area, you'll not need a visa to enter Portugal: 

EU member countries

Germany, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Denmark, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Czech Republic, Romania, and Sweden.

EEA countries

Iceland, Liechtenstein, and Norway. 

Citizens of the following countries do not need a visa to enter Portugal

The following countries do not require a visa for visits lasting less than 90 days, but require a valid passport to enter Portugal: 

Andorra, Antigua and Bermuda, Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Bolivia, Bosnia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, Korea, Macao, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Montenegro, Nicaragua, New Zealand, Panama, Paraguay, Saint Kitts and Nevis, San Marino, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapour, Taiwan, Uruguay, and Venezuela.

Other countries

For citizens of countries not previously mentioned, we recommend visiting the Embassy of Portugal in your country or checking Portugal's Schengen Visa Application Requirements